Council Election Dates and Notices

Local Government Elections are held every two years, on the third Saturday in October, with half the Council seats becoming vacant on a biennial rotation. The City of Mandurah’s Mayor is also voted in by the electors and this position falls vacant every four years.

The next election will be held in October 2017 and vacancies will be as follows:

District: 1 vacancy (Mayor)

Coastal Ward:    1 vacancy
East Ward:         2 vacancies
North Ward:       1 vacancy
Town Ward:       2 vacancies

The City engages the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) to conduct a postal election for the District.  The WAEC appoints a Returning Officer to oversee the election.

Section Image